The 7th Edition of the Upper West Achievers’ Award 2016 was held on Tuesday, 1st November, 2016 at the Wa Regional Library. This year’s Awards was with the theme “Election 2016; The role of the Youth before during and after elections” and was aimed at recognising and celebrating some young people in the region to award some youths within the region for their immense contribution towards the development of the region and Ghana at large.

Amongst those who received award was Kwabena Antwi Sarpong Hammond who happens to be a 2015/2016 alumni and currently a Teaching Assistant at the Integrated Community Development department of the University For Development Studies.

Opanin as he is affectionately called is the CEO of Black Heritage PLC, an NGO which concentrates on the capacity building of it’s members. Since the establishment of this organization in UDS Wa Campus in 2012, Mr. Antwi Sarpong has dedicated his life towards the success of the youth in varying forms as a leader, speaker, mentor and a volunteer.

During the ceremony, the Regional Director of National Youth Authority, Wa, Mr. Mumuni Sulemana congratulated him and awarded him a citation of honour for his volunteerism acts towards the development of the region and Ghana at large. The NYA director further encouraged him to continue all the projects Black Heritage is undertaking. Some of these beneficial projects are; the campus series which made him toured over thirteen SHS – providing career guidance and inspiration to over 9000 students in Upper West, the Woman of Substance initiative which has enliven and empowered young females, the Volunteers’ Corp which incorporates “read a book a term project” and has contributed significantly to the success of some SHS students and many other projects under the auspices of Black Heritage PLC.
Below is the full list of all those who received an award;

Sussan Dong-Pruyeh Suntaama- Musician (youth in music)

Seth Panwuli-WA all stars Chairman (youth in sports)

Latif Mahama-journalist(youth in journalism)

Brian Sotaa Seidun-(youth in mentorship)

Frank Anwelle-(youth in entrepreneur)

Mohammed Moomin Badingu-(youth in developmental Musician(hiv& peace)

Dr. Issahaky Jahason -( youth in health)
Special Award Winners:

Prof Edmond Delle

Mrs Hamidu Fusata

Prof. David Millar

Andrews Kuundaari

Mohammed Osman

Naa Robery Loggar

Stephen Nwinkara
DOMFEH EMMANUEL (Sir Noble ) reporting.

Domfeh Emmanuel( sir noble)

Posted by Domfeh Emmanuel( sir noble)

Writer|Social Communicator|Patriotic Ghanaian|Student Activist|Proud African|Radio Morning Show host @Radio Ultimate 101.9, Wa| Student at University for Development Studies|Twitter:@xenon_noble|Facebook:Noble Kwabena Domfeh Emmanuel|Instagram:noblexenon1|E-mail-noblexenon17@gmail.com

What are your comments on this post?