It is with an inordinate excitement that I muse from the echoes of my soul that the much anticipated University of Ghana S.R.C excellence awards has taken place. The award that took place on the 23rd of May, 2016 at the Great hall of the University saw many august and able people gracing the occasion such as the Dean of Students of the University of Ghana, Dr. James Adomako; the Conventions Peoples’ Party’s (CPP) Parliamentary Candidate; the Immediate past S.R.C president and his executives as well as the incumbent S.R.C president and her executives, the S.R.C president of KNUST and many other invited guests and dignitaries. The Chairman for the occasion was Mr. Kweku Quansah and the overall show was piloted by our one and only eloquent Mr. Shandoff.

The program began with a wonderful musical interlude from a local and formidable band who call themselves THE RAMBLING VIBES after which the M.C of the day came in to usher in the formal process of the program. The formal facet of the ceremony was the part were current S.R.C president, Her Excellency Esinam Afi Seade and her other Executives were sworn in as the new leaders of the prestigious University of Ghana. After a beautiful spectacle of file exchange, hugging and handshakes from the old executives to the current ones, her Excellency gave us a powerful acceptance speech that ignited a lot of inspiration for me. So the current Leaders of the University of Ghana are in this hierarchy:

President – Her Excellency Miss Esinam Afi Seade
Vice-President – His Excellency Mr. Richmond Dompreh
General Secretary – Miss Dorcas Abora Sika Marfo
Treasurer – Mr. Prince Amoah Ampofo

This was followed by probably the most important item of the program, the award ceremony. The categories and the respective winners are listed below:

(1) Best Committee – The Sports Committee
(2) The Most dedicated S.R.C member – Mr. Paul Kwesi Agyiri
(3) The Most Influential Student – Miss Felicia Adjei
(4) Entrepreneur of the year – Mr. Bernard Lommo of NIKASEMO
(5) Best Debater – Miss Aurelia Abena Attipoe
(6) Sport Personality of the Year – Miss Joycelyn Asafoah
(7) Sports Personality for 2015/2016 – Mr. Desmond Aryee
(8) Student Writer – Mr. Joseph Frimpomg Ackah-Blay
(9) Best Journalist – Mr. Karim Abdul Ibrahim
(10) Student Activist – Mr. Prince Kissi
(11) Most Dedicated General Assembly Member – Mr. Adams
(12) Society of the Year – UNIGA
(13) The most Vibrant J.C.R – Mensah Sarbah Hall
(14) The Most Hard Working and Longest Serving General Assembly Member – Miss Elizabeth Nana Ansah
(15) Event House of the Year – HYPER LINE no more
(16) Best Committee Head of the Year – Mr. Maxwell Annor Barclays
(17) Entertainment Personality – Gombilla
(18) Music Group of the Year – PAX Roman
(19) J.C.R President of the year – Jean Nelson Aka Hall
(20) Most Appreciated Student by the S.R.C – went to Mr. Carl Joshua Akonor

With all the awards given, we received a final word from the chairman for the occasion and the vote of thanks and closing prayer were delivered by the J.R.C President of Mensah Sarbah Hall, Mr. Aaron Nii Kommey.



Jacob A. Osae

Posted by Jacob A. Osae

Poet + Songwriter + Screen Writer + Sci Fi & Fantasy Writer = Physicist.

What are your comments on this post?