The UDS Tamale SRC which doubles as the central seat for the other UDS campuses for the 2015/2016 academic year, went to the polls on the16th and 17th of March, 2015 to elect new leaders to man the affairs of the students’ front. The election which was keenly contested had lots of aspirants vying for portfolios including President, General Secretary, Treasurer, Women’s Commissioner, and NUGS reps for the campus. The first part of the election took place on the 16th but some medical students could not exercise their right to vote due to some special assignments. Provisions were therefore made for them to cast their votes on the 17th before the final collation of results.

Below are the various aspirants

1.Seidu Abdul Razak
2.Dary Bawa Taminu
3.Chikpa N. Cletus
4.Suburu A. Aziz

1.Nyamedor Evans Courage
2.Amankwah Gayheart
3.Wumbei Ishmail Mohammed
4.Zakari Abdul Fatawu
5.Bedie Patrick Yayra
6.Kipo Norbert
7.Abdul Kadir Malik T. Junior


  1. Esther Abena Gyinde
  2. Ocansey Amanda Mawuusime
  3. Okafor Stellamaris
  4. Mutala Amina
  5. Sandra Agyemang Gyanea


  1. Joachim Eugine Sarpong
  2. David Agagwire



  1. Gloria Moore
  2. Amadu Suweidu
  3. Appiah Frank
  4. Kofi Afrifa
  5. Marshiana


Meanwhile, the most prestigious positions (SRC president and NUGS reps) did not yield any conclusive results as none of the aspirants made up to the 50% required votes. While candidates with leading votes for the other portfolios are automatically victorious, a runoff has been scheduled for these two positions to take place on Thursday, 19th march 2015.

The rest of the battle will be between CHIKPA N. CLETUS (1068 representing 39.84%) and SUBURU A. AZIZ (899 representing 33.51%) for SRC president

And KIPO NORBERT (leading with over 902 votes) and WUMBEI ISHMAIL MOHAMMED (second with 618 votes) for NUGS rep

The leading candidates for the other portfolios to be confirmed are

Gloria Moore For General Secretary

Stella for Wocom

David for Treasurer


Ugfile.com will continue to bring to you details of the remaining events





Raymond Taaku

Posted by Raymond Taaku

Content Creator | Volunteer | Co-founder @Weducate_ |raymondtaaku@gmail.com |

What are your comments on this post?