CAF names Equatorial Guinea as new host for AFCON 2015


Equatorial Guinea will replace Morocco as hosts of the Africa Cup of Nations.Morocco rescinded it decision to host the AFCON 2015 tournament because of its fears over the Ebola outbreak on parts of the continent, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) confirmed. CAF received interest from Algeria,Nigeria and Angola but settled on Equatorial Guinea. This means that Equatorial Guinea replaces Morocco as host and gains automatic qualification to the tournament.

The qualification matches will continue as planned and the tournament will kick off from January 17 to February 8 as scheduled.The four cities selected for the finals are Malabo, Bata, Mongomo and Ebebiyin and the draw for the finals will take place Wednesday, December 3, 2014 in Malabo, Equatorial Guinea


It is an oil-rich nation which became independent from Spain in 1968

Main language is Spanish and religion Roman Catholic

It is made up of a mainland territory called Rio Muni, and five islands including Bioko, where the capital Malabo is.

One of Africa’s smallest countries, pop: 622,000

Fang is the most predominant ethnic group – nearly 86% of the population

Its currency is the Central African Franc

It Co-hosted the 2012 Africa Cup of Nations with Gabon

Posted by Kwabena Ameyaw

Creative Writer and Freelance Journo. Social Activist . Follow on twitter @Fhresh_matic

What are your comments on this post?